PDA

View Full Version : UV-Problems (Im-/Export from Max to Modo)


BattlemasterXP
03-15-2008, 08:10 PM
I've noticed there is a similar thread,but my issue is a bit different.
I'm trying Modo and my first step was to creat a sphere in Max,add a UVW stack and export
the object as .obj file,to see how the unwrap-tool works.
Imported in Modo, I've used the unwrap tool, and everything was fine.
But then,with the UV-Map, I exported the object again as .obj and imported it in Max
and the UV-Map is modified.

Would be great if somebody can help me.

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/7329/81000345rf2.th.jpg (http://img208.imageshack.us/my.php?image=81000345rf2.jpg)

OdhinnKohout
03-19-2008, 05:21 PM
Double check your uv map in Modo once you have unwrapped your sphere and make sure you are exporting the right uv map.
There does seem to be a few issues exporting UV maps from Modo into other 3d apps.When imported into Maya I always have to sew random edges together that have come undone somehow in the import process from Modo.
Don't know any other Maya users have experienced this or not.

When I look at your second attached pic it looks as if when you used the. unwrap function that you didn't select enough edges and that's why some segments are still joined?
Also under your Max import options you selected "Multiple." Try the "Single" option instead.
You might want to post your problem with Max on the AutoDesk "AREA" forums and see if it is an inherent problem with Max import options.
Good luck with it.

BattlemasterXP
03-19-2008, 09:42 PM
Many Thanks Odhinn for your advices.
I don't really know which setting was the issue,
whether it was the switch between 'single and multi' - mode, you have pointed out in your post, or the unchecked smooth mode.

Now the mapping works after I add a UVW stack,
although some seams are a bit odd placed and unnecessary.

So,many thanks for your help dude :)

OdhinnKohout
03-19-2008, 10:06 PM
No problem

*EDIT:
Forgot to mention this...
Seneca Menard has written a little script you can download and attach to a hotkey which deletes the UV map of your imported model.
This is good because now when you layout your UV map in Modo you won't export the wrong map with your object.

Here is a link to his site:
LINK (http://www.indigosm.com/modoscripts.htm)

CGTalk Moderation
03-19-2008, 10:06 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.