PDA

View Full Version : Volcano - river of lava


mitm2002
03-15-2008, 08:34 AM
Anybody know how I can make a realistic-looking river of lava? I'm a bit of a newbie, but if Fluid Effects is the way to go, I'm all ears! Anybody know of any decent step-by-step tutorials? Attached (hopefully) is a crude visualization of the shot. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

THANKS!

MITM2002

residentcoppa
03-15-2008, 12:09 PM
Forget Maya ...
if you can try realflow
Much easier and much better results

Have a look at their blog
They had a volcano thread recently with pretty impressive results

r.

radcliff
03-15-2008, 04:20 PM
There was a tutorial in the Autodesk "Area" sometime on using a lattice deformer to create a moving river of lava. If you search for lava, I bet you'll find it. It was, I believe, written for 3ds Max, but it looked like the techniques would transfer to Maya

MRR

natsheh
03-16-2008, 01:31 AM
Will the lava river be already there and moving? Since if this was the case, I think using textures, with some deformation here and there may be a good approach. 2D fluids or photoreal footages may be used to add steam.


But if the lava river will actually come out within the shot . . using realFlow will do great.

mitm2002
03-16-2008, 03:43 AM
Thanks for the tips, guys! Natsheh, the lava will already be flowing in the shot, but I'm starting to get excited about Real Flow. I downloaded the demo version, but it's all completely new to me. Do you know the first, say, 6 steps in making a river coming towards the camera? I'm not sure where all the buttons are. THANKS!

Aikiman
03-16-2008, 07:30 AM
I havnt seen the realflow one but I did i shot with Maya fluids, takes a while to sim but so does Realflow and I was pleased with the results. Probably only good with flows rather than explosions > then I see Realflow. I have a couple of stills in my online portfolio.

mitm2002
03-16-2008, 09:19 AM
Wow, Aikiman, that looks great! Any chance you have an .avi or a quicktime so I can see it move?

Also, does anybody know how to convert quads to triangles in Maya?

Aikiman
03-16-2008, 10:25 AM
Yep, have a look at my website http://www.jeremyraven.co.nz/3D.html (http://www.jeremyraven.co.nz), its over 11MB.

*Under the Polygon menu is the command triangulate.

Aikiman
03-16-2008, 11:23 AM
Heres an example of lava Alias brought out a while back. Should be all you need for the fluid setup. Good luck!

Bernard397
03-16-2008, 10:34 PM
Hello,



is that lava like on this pictures...?



http://www.cgfire.com/View.aspx?id=535

Aikiman
03-16-2008, 10:47 PM
Hello,
is that lava like on this pictures...?
http://www.cgfire.com/View.aspx?id=535

Yes .

azshall
02-04-2009, 02:25 AM
Hey jeremy, I remember a while back you did some really nice Lava flow... Did you use Fluids or Particles? How did you go about it per-se?

Aikiman
02-04-2009, 02:59 AM
Hi Seth,

Pretty simple really, I used fluids with Surface Render > Hard surface turned on (which really cranks the sim times up so best to use this only to render when you are done with sim'ing). Density and velocity are the only grids that are dynamic and both color and incand. are set to constant. Create a nice fire glow as you would for an explosion (not fire) in the incand. The color just has a few chips different greys and black far left side. The opacity ramp is left at default.

Texture is up to you...I used a perlin noise to texture all the shading with a high Depth Max and just animated the texture time to reduce any stretching.

That should get you started :)

CGTalk Moderation
02-04-2009, 02:59 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.