PDA

View Full Version : keying very noisy film material trouble

alexx
03-13-2008, 05:18 PM
hi,

i am currently working on a commercial.
the footage was shot on film, but now as i try to key it i run into severe trouble.

to mention: i am quite new to film material. most of my recent work was shot on video formats.

the film footage we got is extremely noisy. the problem: it is COLOR noise and not luminance noise. so when i try to key that footage i get small sized holes all over the foreground.
with some helper mattes and median filters i was able to key at least more static shots.
but now i have one that involves a lot motion blur and i am really stuck.

#1 is it normal that film material has that much color noise?
#2 is there a way to key that?

any help appreciated.

here for you to see: a "sample" from a near white are of the image (cant show complete image) - guess why my key does not work

cheers

alex

http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/4853/filmwhitefv7.jpg

here a part of the image with motion blur. this is the result with initial key done with keylight

http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/6130/initialkeyis0.jpg

WmH
03-14-2008, 03:25 PM
Normally film shot in that kind of light is tight grained, but film type, speed and processing are normally up to the DP and some understand the downstrem implications better than others. :rolleyes:

High motion blur shots are well suited for inter-frame blending which will damp (normalize) the color noise.
This is (best) done in the timing tab of the input node.
Rather than spew directions here is a screen shot of a recent project (ignore the pulldown it was telecine'd media, start with retime mode) This will give you 3 frames (backward and forward) of blend (with decreasing intensity with frame distance)

http://idisk.mac.com/holderness/Public/Concept/Frame_Blend.png

alexx
03-14-2008, 03:36 PM
yeah.. i seem to have met "one of the others" :)