PDA

View Full Version : Becoming a Good VFX artist

AzionA
03-06-2008, 02:14 PM
Say, i have been wondering. how do you become a good VFX artist. i love visual effects like water simulation or fire. but as im still studying now. i hope to get some good advice from professional out there. do i need to know other software other than maya like vue, realflow or houdini. currently im builting my portfolio to showcase for this year graduation show so that i can apply for internship at lucas animation[simulation department].

azshall
03-08-2008, 10:43 PM
Say, i have been wondering. how do you become a good VFX artist. i love visual effects like water simulation or fire. but as im still studying now. i hope to get some good advice from professional out there. do i need to know other software other than maya like vue, realflow or houdini. currently im builting my portfolio to showcase for this year graduation show so that i can apply for internship at lucas animation[simulation department].

Best and seriously, ... only advice.

Practice. Lots of practice. ...Doing the same rudimentary things over-and-over-and-over again. Using ample amounts of reference. Knowledge is power, the more you know and can "use" to your ability, the better off you are.

Pretty cliche response but it really is the truth...

CoolDuck
03-09-2008, 05:01 PM
Hi, I'm in the same position. :) Currently learning dynamics in Maya. And I want to be a VFX artist one day.
I suggest get inspired! And practice practice practice! Visit websites of VFX studios; view their work. Watch Stash... and watch a lot of Gnomon / Digital Tutors dvd's. Good luck!

Btw... I'm also from Singapore. ;)

AzionA
03-10-2008, 02:30 AM
Oh cool! , i never tot someone from Lucas Arts to actually reply me. haha. but what should i really practice on? keep creating VFX till i drop. or make one really good one and then submit it for validation. but nevertheless. thx for the advice man. btw coolduck, u'r in singapore too?

michaelwang