PDA

View Full Version : setting up a pod


iC4
05-05-2003, 12:42 PM
I'm trying to make a little pod race animation. I know...not that original but I make it only for learning purposes ;)

so I build a little pod and bound the cables to joints with an IK handle - works pretty good

then I drew a curve on my terrain, and attached my pod to this motion path

my problem is the following: since my terrain has some little hills in it and the path some curves my pod seems a little bit static - a bit unrealistic

I want now that the pod reacts automaticly on the terrain, for example if the pod racer drives down a hill the pod should swing like it would in real life. the same for the curves - the pod should swing out

I included a little drawing for better explantation.


is there a way to set this up with dynamics so that I don't need to animate this by hand?

iC4
05-05-2003, 01:23 PM
just found this tutorial :rolleyes:
http://www.n8dog.com/tut_4/

I think that was what I was looking for.....will try this ;)

wgreenlee1
05-05-2003, 04:09 PM
Uh...thats pretty awesome stuff there.....:thumbsup:


EDIT: What does he mean by Draw joints and create an IK Rotate Plane Solution for each (see below).?

How do you create rotate plane solution?

***off to study the manual***

I got it,nevermind....in the tool attributes its "ikRPsolver" ...

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 02:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.