PDA

View Full Version : Banding Problem


georgy porgy
05-05-2003, 11:40 AM
Hi out there,

I have problems with banding. For example a fractal noise filter on a solid layer with:

Amount: 100%
Time Slice: no matter
Octaves: 1
H/V Scale : no matter but 100 % is good to see it

On the Computer Monitor is shows slightly but on my framebuffer DPS Reality it is good to see--- BANDING!!!!

I did not see that since the bad old 16-Bit days around 1994 or so.

My first thought was: “It must be the bit-depth.” But changes in the Layer and in the Composite to 16 Bit were not successful. I even saved the 16-Bit Image to Photoshop—BANDING!!!

I had to realize that it is the same with Gradients.

Has anybody a solution????

Best regards, Georgy

georgy porgy
05-23-2003, 11:12 AM
Yippee, I have cured myself!!!

Puting a little grain on the layer with the banding, will dither the gradient or noise, so the banding lines will disappear...

Regards, Georgy



:bounce:

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 01:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.