PDA

View Full Version : stand-alone solution: LW or Messiah?

hydroclops
02-28-2008, 09:20 PM
Should I upgrade Lightwave or buy Messiah Studio?

I want to make short all cg animated films that are character driven. I own LW 5.6 and Messiah 1.5 (the animation-only LW plug in). I have some knowledge of how these programs have changed over the last 10 years, but no experience.

I want to make non-photo realistic imagery, yet have enough power and control to create a unique, interesting look.

My possibly faulty assumption is that,comparatively:

LW has a great renderer; Messiah has great character tools

So how do they compare on the following?

cloth, softbody, surfacing ability, expressions, particles. I hope to rely on these features to create things like clothes and jiggly flesh, fire, water, etc.

My experience with LW character tools is that the bones are unusable. With 5.6 the only way to do what I want is with puppet master and Messiah. On the other hand, LW is way easier than Messiah to understand and use, for me anyway.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks

lanosrep1
02-28-2008, 11:22 PM
Obviously, we are a little biased.. we happen to prefer Messiah for most things.. right?..
Most of us however either have LW or have been exposed to it at some point\ on some level..

There have been significant improvements in Messiah as of late, many of which touch the areas you are most interested in... You will need a good modeler.. 5.6 is pretty dated.. No UV's if I remember correctly.. but other choices are available.. some free.. Wings for example..

Not sure what the upgrade policy is now that 3.0 has been released.. have to ask Pmg.. don't think the upgrade path from 1.5 is listed at this point.

Good luck!
G.

catizone
02-29-2008, 12:09 AM