PDA

View Full Version : Adding Joint in TSM 2 question


chandro
02-27-2008, 09:06 AM
how can i add joint in rig after TSM2?
tried adding and smooth binding for selected joints but it got error message
// Error: Selected geometry `polySurface1` is already connected to a skinCluster
is there a workaround with this?

instruct9r
02-27-2008, 01:35 PM
you can't bind after the mesh have been bound to joints....

instead select the joints and the mesh then go to Skin > EdinSmoothSkin > Add Influence > OptioBox

unCheck the "Use Geometry" and check On the Lock Weights

before that be sure that all joint's weights are locked cuz Maya may move some of the weights to the newly added influences..

;)

chandro
02-27-2008, 03:51 PM
wow! Thanks a lot! it works!:applause:

ZippZopp
04-09-2008, 02:04 AM
question regarding locking weights.

i've used both maya 8.5 and 2008 64 bit versions on vista. in my paint weights option box I only have a button to "toggle hold" on selected joints. So if i want to lock all my weights I have to do it one by one. I don't know if this is a 64 bit problem or what, but another system which runs maya 8.5 32 bit on windows xp, has buttons for locking and unlocking selected weights, along with buttons to lock and unlock all weights.

what happened to all those boxes in my maya??? it is super annoying to lock weights one by one

instruct9r
04-09-2008, 09:35 AM
You have only hold\unhold weight for selected joint.. i personally have never seen a buttons for holding \ unholding for all joints..

1. you can go to the AttributeSpreadSheet and hold\unhold all from there

2. use my script :)
put it on you'r shelf... 4 buttons, upper 2 is for holding\unholding for all joints that are connected to some mesh in the scene lower 2 buttons are for holding unholding for selected joints



//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// HoldUnhold Weights
//
//Author: Denislav Georgiev
//web: www.puppetTD.com
//e-mail: denis@puppetTD.com
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

if (`window -exists myWin`)
deleteUI myWin;

window -title "Hold Influence"
-s 1
-toolbox 1
-wh 255 200
myWin;

columnLayout -adj 1;

text -l "--------------------> All Joits <--------------------";
button -l "Hold" -h 50 -c "hold()";
button -l "Unhold" -h 50 -c "unhold()";
separator -style "in";
text -l "--------------------> Selected Joints <--------------------";
button -l "Hold" -h 50 -c "holdSel()";
button -l "Unhold" -h 50 -c "unholdSel()";


proc hold()
{
string $sel[] = `ls "*.lockInfluenceWeights"`;

for ($current in $sel)
{
setAttr ($current) 1;
}
ArtPaintSkinWeightsToolOptions;
print "Done!!!\n";
}

proc unhold()
{
string $sel[] = `ls "*.lockInfluenceWeights"`;

for ($current in $sel)
{
setAttr ($current) 0;
}
ArtPaintSkinWeightsToolOptions;
print "Done!!!\n";
}

proc holdSel()
{
string $sel[] = `ls -sl`;
if (!size ($sel))
warning "------> Select Joints!!! <------";
for ($current in $sel)
{
setAttr ($current + ".lockInfluenceWeights") 1;
}
}

proc unholdSel()
{
string $sel[] = `ls -sl`;
if (!size ($sel))
warning "------> Select Joints!!! <------";
for ($current in $sel)
{
setAttr ($current + ".lockInfluenceWeights") 0;
}
}


showWindow myWin;

ZippZopp
04-09-2008, 05:15 PM
very cool, thanks for that! much appreciated

CGTalk Moderation
04-09-2008, 05:15 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.