PDA

View Full Version : New Selection Highlighting project

Skyer
02-22-2008, 11:05 PM
ok, here it goes, I'm not good at programing, or anything like that, but I would like to start doing so and I realized it would be better if I set myself a moderate goal, and to ask people to point me in the right direction and for help, than to try to read a lot of things that may overwhelm me or lead me astray.

So, here it goes... I find myself annoyed at how Maya highlights (gree) all of the children of a selected object. It makes it a bit confusing when trying to select the parent and a few children, because all of the children are green, and sometimes it get's hard to try to find out who is selected already. It also bothers me because sometimes there's so many children that the whole damn screen becomes green and you can't see squat.
Some may argue that I can just turn off the Selection Highlight option of the viewport, and you may be right, but then think about it for a second... there's no real purpose or good reason why the children have to get highlighted when the parent is. (unless you want to identify who belongs to who)
Max and XSI do not highlight the children and they work fine (I'm not saying I like one better than the other, I'm just saying that the children getting highlighted in maya is sometimes very annoying and pointless)
So here's my idea for a cool plug in:
Change Maya so when you select a parent, the children do NOT get highlighted.
Add a middle click select option that when selecting the parent, the children Will get highlighted.
I suppose the highlight thing is like a property that gets progragated or something, I dunno. I would like to know if someone else thinks this is a good idea and if you would like to make the plugin or point me in the right direction, like explaining how it works, or where should I look, or how hard or easy it is.

Please take this serious, I believe this could become a standard option in maya if it works good :)

GennadiyKorol