PDA

View Full Version : No SubD ??? Please Help

02-22-2008, 02:43 PM
I am a beginner, owning 6.5 ESS. I run XSI on my Macbook Pro 2.4 nVedia 8600GT 256 VRAM via Bootcamp.

Last month I followed Aaron's book XSI4 modeling the dinosaur. Everything worked fine. Until last month I modeling just a sphere (for the dinosaur eye), but I can not activate Subdivision for smooth model look by using (Numeric)+ key at all.

Is there anywhere I can fine the pull-down menu for activating Subdivision?

I have tried both external keyboard and the built-in on my Macbook, but none worked. I am thinking the reinstall XSI, but it would be a great help if I can solve this issue without reinstalling everything.

Thanks,

CiaranM
02-22-2008, 02:58 PM
Hi,
I use a macbook also. I was surprised to find that the macbook does not have a numeric keypad, so does not have the associated + and - keys. In XSI, I had to use keyboard mapping to remap the subdivision keys to '-' and '=', which can be found next to '0' on your keyboard.
I also found it helpful to remap all functions that use the 'delete' key to the 'backspace' key, which on your mac is labelled 'delete'.

Hope this helps.

02-22-2008, 05:11 PM
Thanks for the tips. I think remapping the key is great idea.
However, before this, I can use Function key (+) + to get Subd.
Now, although I used external keyboard, it still doesn't work at all. The Delete key works well.

Ohmanoggin
02-22-2008, 06:31 PM
Not sure if this is of use...

You can set sub-D level by going to Property / Geometric Approximation.
Then on Polymesh tab, you can set Sub-D level for Viewports and rendering.

Ohmanoggin

02-22-2008, 06:38 PM
Thanks

Look like it is a bug from Apple Boot Camp. A lot of people out there lost there Function keys and Del key.

curbsidebandit
02-22-2008, 06:58 PM