PDA

View Full Version : how do you use lighting on fur


Whammybar
02-21-2008, 09:58 PM
ive applied fur to and object and lit it with a directional light, but the object is the only the actually getting highlights and shadows, the fur itself is just acting like the light doesnt exist.

noizFACTORY
02-23-2008, 10:22 PM
If you're using maya's native software render (which i think you are), then you need to link your lights to the fur nodes. Select your light and then ctrl select your fur (from the outliner) and from the fur menu select the option add light to fur or something on those lines. Check maya docs for details.
Btw, it is advisable to light fur in a separate pass and only with spotlights to avoid flickers and jitters during animation rendering. Fur tends to behave a little differently than your normal geometry to the same set of lights. So, to get the best results, try lighting and rendering it in a separate pass which you can comp later.
Cheers,
-sachin

CGTalk Moderation
02-23-2008, 10:22 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.