PDA

View Full Version : Searching for Render software


Potemkyn
02-20-2008, 02:32 PM
I am looking at using BackBurner to assist with some rendering. Are there any other products out that work with 3D Studio Max like BackBurner? Any Linux based?

Thanks

Po~

simonenastasi
02-22-2008, 08:37 AM
I know about frantic's Deadline - I've read that who used it never looked back :D

http://www.franticfilms.com/software/products/deadline/overview/

noouch
02-22-2008, 09:51 PM
You could also check out Royal Render, but from what I've heard, Deadline has better Max support:

http://www.royalrender.de/

Bobo
02-22-2008, 10:13 PM
I am looking at using BackBurner to assist with some rendering. Are there any other products out that work with 3D Studio Max like BackBurner? Any Linux based?

Thanks

Po~

Frantic is also about to start Beta test of Deadline 3.0 with Linux support...

beaker
02-23-2008, 12:32 AM
Rush:
http://seriss.com/rush-current/

It does support linux, osx, sgi and windows. Though how do you render under linux if your using 3dsmax?

Potemkyn
02-26-2008, 12:52 PM
Linux based would be great - but I'm just starting to learn about nodes and render farms. I saw a note in the General disccusions about a new render farm being up. It's in the UK and costs 15,9 cents... :shrug:


I've also been in a thread where we were discussing what was the best machine to build for 3D. Seems we came up with a single quad core with 8GB of RAM. I've found an Intel Duo 2 Quad 2.4GHz and motherboard for $300.00. Just need another $300 worth of RAM, hard drive, video card, and case to make this work.

Does anybody here have a render farm using linux?

Thanks!


Mike
~Po

beaker
02-26-2008, 05:39 PM
I have worked at dozens of companies that ran linux farms and helped set them up at a couple places.

skAt3f0r71f3
02-29-2008, 01:57 AM
Rush:
http://seriss.com/rush-current/

It does support linux, osx, sgi and windows. Though how do you render under linux if your using 3dsmax?

Touche! lol

MikeBracken
02-29-2008, 02:57 AM
Bobo...Are there any plans to include support for animation in Vue ? We just finished a 30 day trial of Deadline. We loved it. We use Max and Maya here, and not having to write 20 + batches for Maya was really nice. But we also use Vue, and its Network rendering is really bad.
I think this would be great , if even possible.

Regards,
Mike

Potemkyn
03-06-2008, 08:12 PM
Now - which ones of these are affordable for home use? They don't have to be free, though, that's always appreciated.


Mike

beaker
03-06-2008, 08:18 PM
$100-150 is the normal price for most render managers. Not exactly expensive.

Bobo
03-06-2008, 08:36 PM
Bobo...Are there any plans to include support for animation in Vue ? We just finished a 30 day trial of Deadline. We loved it. We use Max and Maya here, and not having to write 20 + batches for Maya was really nice. But we also use Vue, and its Network rendering is really bad.
I think this would be great , if even possible.

Regards,
Mike

Deadline uses the network or command line capabilities of the applications it controls (except for Max where we implemented our own plugin to talk to deadline, mostly because we know how to do that and because command line control back in Max 5 was non-existent ;))
I have never used Vue myself and don't know whether the limitations when it comes to Deadline are Vue-related or Deadline-related. I will have to ask the Deadline developers (or you could do that on the support forum).

Potemkyn
03-10-2008, 12:38 PM
Thanks guys!

When I get the node built, I'll get one of these suggestions. If you're interested, I can make a thread on how things go.



Mike

CGTalk Moderation
03-10-2008, 12:39 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.