PDA

View Full Version : How can I get polycount?


johnchuang
02-20-2008, 07:47 AM
Hi, I wonder if there is comand to return current selected object's polycount.

Another question ,how to compare two objects' topologies?

Thank you in advance!

copain
02-20-2008, 07:59 AM
hey there

an easy way to see your polycount is in your heads up display.
go to DISPLAY->HEADS UP DISPLAY->POLYCOUNT

steve

r4inm4ker
02-20-2008, 08:00 AM
number of faces : `polyEvaluate -f`;
please elaborate your definition of object topology.

johnchuang
02-20-2008, 12:16 PM
Hi,Jeff, thank you very much! That's what I need. And by topology I mean the vertex number and vertex order . If two meshes have same vertex number and vertex order then I can apply blendShape ,I guess.




Hi, copain. I know how to display , but need to read and store it. Thank you all the same!

Robert Bateman
02-20-2008, 02:03 PM
Topology is moot for blendshapes. You just need to know that the object has the same number of vertices. for example, create 2 cubes, triangulate 1, and you'll still be able to generate a blend shape....

johnchuang
02-21-2008, 02:16 AM
Hi,Robert.Thank you for reply! But I find different vert order giving me wierd blendShape looking.

john_homer
02-21-2008, 04:43 AM
how to compare two objects' topologies?


try the polyCompare command.

.j

johnchuang
02-21-2008, 07:57 AM
Hi, john_homer.Thank you very much!! But if there is a comand or method like "polyCompare" in maya version 8.5 and 7.0 ?

CGTalk Moderation
02-21-2008, 07:57 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.