PDA

View Full Version : DWIII - 3D - Tamas Varga - Warlord

Laa-Yosh
02-18-2008, 11:57 PM
Here goes nothing... I haven't done any personal stuff in a looong time and it's been driving me crazy. Then I've seen the announcement that DWIII is coming, and I've got our normal mapping pipeline figured out for a while now for some contract jobs, so I thought... "I could do this" ;)

Now I'm not a concept artist and I won't even try to pretend to be one, so I'm not going to bring any super extravagant ideas. A Warlord sounds simple enough to me - guy with some very magical weapon, or maybe some other kind of artifact.
So I've started sketching (yay! something else I feel a newbie at :) and I think I already have a few favorites so I'm going to continue with those during the week. I'll come up with the character background as the concept develops, as the two will go pretty much together.

http://forums.cgsociety.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=123817

kary
02-19-2008, 12:23 AM
Nice to see you doing this Tamas it has been a long time since I've seen you do personal stuff (Spiraloidish? :)).

The bottom right most and the one to the upperleft of him both fit a very classic warlord figure to me. The asymmetrical shoulder pad and very classic hero look (huge upper body etc) make for a very nice silhouette in #9 (counting from the upper left). A really huge 2 handed hammer might fit better then the sword though.

Look forward to seeing what you do :)

kobi
02-19-2008, 01:28 AM
nice start:thumbsup: I like #12 :buttrock:

Laa-Yosh
02-19-2008, 07:22 PM
Yeah, and how long has it been since Spiraloid...

Anyway, you guys have picked the ones I like the most as well, so I'm gonna do more detailed concepts, we'll see how they turn out to be. Although I've decided to replace the sword with a giant mace - a quick look suggests that most people go for hammers, and I prefer a bladed weapon for that character.

collings
02-20-2008, 03:34 PM
yeah It's awesome to see you in this competition.