PDA

View Full Version : haltone


jumbowumbo2
02-17-2008, 07:36 PM
I was wondering if anyone could tell me exactly how to achieve the halftone dots, as they appear in this image. (top right and bottom left) http://www.escera.com/upload_images/home/big/INDEXmain_Escera_millzero10.jpg

Every time i try and apply the halftone filter, it never turns out like this, where the white dots fade out in size. Instead, I get an ugly looking jumble of white and black dots. Most tutorials don't go into any depth with the filter, at least none that i could find. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

workbench
02-17-2008, 08:56 PM
I just use Photoshop's halftone filter, first start with a black background next render what you want to be the half tone in dark gray, then convert to grayscale and then bitmap and choose halftone, presto!

http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/2623/screenvidshot0000002021oz5.jpg

http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/4758/screenvidshot0000002021jv0.jpg

http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/290/screenvidshot0000002521kl2.jpg

jumbowumbo2
02-17-2008, 09:28 PM
Thank you so much!

What I was doing what creating my gradient from white to black, and then just selecting Filter>pixelate>color halftone, and then setting the channel frequencies to the same, and setting the diameter to about thirty. It was close, but this is what I was really looking to do!

frog
02-18-2008, 08:03 AM
The quickest way to get it to work in a standard RGB image is to enter the same number in all four boxes in the Color Hafltone filter's options. I usually use 45.

CGTalk Moderation
02-18-2008, 08:03 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.