PDA

View Full Version : DWIII - 3D - Commander_Cool - Celeste

commander_cool
02-17-2008, 06:22 PM
Latest update (02/28/08) :

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg297/lt_smash57/celeste_concept07.jpg

Hey everyone!

It's my first Dominance War and my first project in a while. I've been working in previz for the last 4 years so, I'm not really in the low-poly/game art scene, but I wandered, watched and learned a lot these past years. I've done some hi-poly characters in the past, but the standards are so high now that what I did isn't really usable for a portfolio anymore. :cry: So, I thought this comp would be the perfect reason to catch up and learn the new techniques and tools.

Ok, so here's my character for the war.

Name : Celeste
Race : Birdmen/birdwomen
Class : Invoker
Weapon : Orb (air/lightning artifact) + Wind Blade(non-magical weapon)

Backstory

When she was just a kid, Celeste was peacefully living with her tribe, on a bunch of islands far on the ocean. She was a playfull child and was always looking for adventure. One day, she was flying around the cliffs and lost consciousness. She fell 500 feet and "landed" into the ocean, broking her left leg and damaging one of her wings. Her friends took her back to the village's nursery where her leg would be amputated and her wings taken care of. During the surgery, the doctors found a black spongious matter just under her skin, near the root of her wing. After many hours of discussion with the elders, it was decided that she would be exiled with no hope of returning, to protect the other people from catching the virus(or something) that obviously created that black matter, made her loose consciousness and may kill her eventually. So, her wings were amputated too, to prevent her from flying back home.