PDA

View Full Version : DWIII - 2D - creaturerevenge - [TBA]

creaturerevenge
02-17-2008, 06:37 AM
Updates to come! This is my first time competeing in this competition although I did watch it pretty closely last year. I'm really excited to be a part of it this year and look forward to seeing all the hard work everyone always put into it! Good luck everyone!

--G

creaturerevenge
02-19-2008, 08:31 PM
So I set to thinking about the topic and storyline this year and it put some interesting thoughts into my head. One of the first things that came to mind was that to me it almost sounded like a second medieval period. I thought about how that period was void of computer and even most mechanical technology. A lot of the world was fueled by religious beliefs which lead to the crusades. So I figured a warrior of this time might share some traits in common with the crusaders of the past. Though scriptures and artifact that are considered holy by them might look a bit different then those of the past. The scriptures of the future might be our books or even newspapers. Rather then telling the story of god raining frogs down on people, the documents might tell stories more of fire falling from the sky during terrorist attacks and great wars of epic size that took place the whole world over. These would be the legends of a distant future. So i began gathering reference images of the knights of the past and figured it might work as a nice base to bring a more post-apocalyptic look and feel too. Sort of a "Boy and His Dog" or "Road Warrior" meets Joan of Arc kind of theme.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v702/creaturerevenge/reference-sheet.jpg

More to come!

--G

creaturerevenge
02-22-2008, 10:51 PM