PDA

View Full Version : Need advice about animation mentor

tony0421
02-16-2008, 02:13 PM
Hi you guys Im new here and I was wondering if there was anyone that has any feedback on animation mentor. Im seriously planning to enroll, I even applied. But I want to know if anyone or if you know anyone that has been part of the program. Im enrolling because i feel that Im lacking in talent so I need the extra help. The only thing that scares me is the price because Im going to get a loan. So does anyone know what the chances are of getting a job after completing the program or even while still being part of it. So I wont have to worry so much about the loan. Is it really what it make self it self to be? I appreciate anyones help. Thanks

PS if you get a chance take a look at some of my work and tell me what you think thanks again
www.mrbanker.blogspot.com (http://www.mrbanker.blogspot.com)

kungfudork
02-18-2008, 12:56 AM
tony,
i graduated in the first class from animationmentor and i would say the level you are at now is far above where i was when i started. i also had never used maya before. i can say it is definitely worth the loan, which is the route i took. even though i had to learn my way around maya, and was really learning animation from almost scratch, i ended up getting my first proffesional job. it was about 8 months after i graduated. i just kept at it and i know it would have never happened without the skill set i learned at AM. i just started my second job working remotely and i love it! i would also say that people that go into the program with a descent understanding of animation already, like yourself, improve really quickly and seem to have gotten jobs alot quicker than someone like myself who was pretty much a newbie. the other advantage that you have is that the curriculum has been streamlined since i went through the classes.....we were kind of the guinea pigs of the program and it was still amazing! they teach you the tools to be an animator, how we