PDA

View Full Version : XSI Keymapping ! (No settings popup ?)

ionbaciu
02-15-2008, 08:51 PM
I just started playing with XSI a few days ago and first of all i went setting my keymaps.
That was easy, until i got to the modelling tools :)

If i keymap "Extrude" to Ctrl+E for example, whenever i select a polygon and hit Ctrl+E , it extrudes that polygon with the default settings , it doesn't pop up a menu like teh normal extrude tool. Here is the question , how to keymap a tool and still get that settings popup ?

(I am pretty satisfied with XSI, if i work those things out , it would be even better)

One more thing , how do i keymap a script ? I just got a script to toggle between SubD On and OFF and i would liek to keymap it to Tab , like in Modo or Lightwave :) (Or is already soemthing similar ? )

One more thing , i keymapped my Render Region tool to Ctrl+Q but now it lost a part of it's functionality. If i middle click , it won't disappear (it will just flash for .5 seconds) and if i right click, it won't do a refresh :O

ionbaciu
02-15-2008, 09:19 PM
Ok, found out how to do teh script thingy. For anyone else that wants to know, you need to put the script on a shelf/toolbar then go to Keyboard Mapping under Custom SCript Commands and you will find it there :)

ionbaciu
02-16-2008, 09:19 PM
BUMP ! I really need an answer ...

PetrZ
02-17-2008, 01:42 AM
Ctrl temporarily disable ppg pop-up, so you need to use another key then ctrl or change this behaviour in pref.

tc
02-17-2008, 02:30 AM
Hi and welcome.
XSI keymap is pretty good already... you don't need to do much I think.
About the extrude thing, you maybe had changed the wrong keymap entry.

By default ctrl+d is duplicate/extrude. So if you press ctrl+d with a material selected, it will duplicate the material, object, property, whatever you have selected it will duplicate.
If you have an edge/poly/vertex selected it will extrude the component with any ofset (which is duplicate as well? :P).