PDA

View Full Version : Problem with shake and fedora core 8


chippey
02-09-2008, 09:32 PM
So I've got a shake on linux problem that I've not come accross before :( This in on fedora core 8 (x64)
Previously, everything has worked swimingly on fedora core 7 (x64). Now, whenever I try and start shake, it just hangs. The window doesn't even pop up, the command line just sits there waiting patiently doing nothing until I cntl+c it.

I've checked all the system logs, and there's nothing in them. No library errors, nada. I've even launched shkv directly instead of using the shake command (after setting appropriate env variables), and I get nothing.

I've tried this on two systems now (both fedora core 8 x64), and both do the same thing.

Anyone come across this on linux?

Cheers!

TAVO
02-11-2008, 01:50 AM
this may help, but it looks like is not working 100%, you can try it:

http://www.vfxtalk.com/forum/shake-not-working-gentoo-t12163p2.html

Kai01W
02-11-2008, 07:52 AM
make sure you have the c compiler installed, plus all the possibly needed shell types (tcsh, csh I think). A colleague had just the same problem and that fixed it.

-k

chippey
02-11-2008, 08:42 PM
this may help, but it looks like is not working 100%, you can try it:

http://www.vfxtalk.com/forum/shake-not-working-gentoo-t12163p2.html


That looks promising! Will try that and report if that works.

chippey
02-17-2008, 11:29 PM
this may help, but it looks like is not working 100%, you can try it:

http://www.vfxtalk.com/forum/shake-not-working-gentoo-t12163p2.html

That worked! Replaced the libX11 library, and now shake runs swimingly! (For other people running into this on 64 bit systems, I replaced the i386 version of the library as shake on linux is 32 bit).

Cheers!

CGTalk Moderation
02-17-2008, 11:29 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.