PDA

View Full Version : Leaf texture

Shuyinsan
02-08-2008, 12:39 PM
Hello everybody.

I'm working on a ground texture thats gonna be placed in a forest.
while i'm not an expert in texturing, I still gave it a try, mainly because I want to learn to make textures and I want to get better.
this way it's good practice.

Now i'm not aiming for a realistic look, nor a fantasy look.
Just as good as I can get, im not gonna push myself yet.
What I want to ask of you guys is to give some tips and critique, on how to do some things or what can be done better.

This i'm hoping to get a good result.

I have to say this is the 2nd time I'm making textures in my whole 3D experience...I've been modelling most of the time.
II also read alot of PDF's from Leigh (Thank you for the great stuuf) and alot of links that came from topics here..I've learned alot already in the last 2 days so i myself am satisfied in what i have accomplished so far..but I know it can be better so..well here it is.

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/8346/leafsdf6.png

Xaltar
02-08-2008, 02:05 PM
You are off to a good start. Add more color variation in there now, some yellows, subtle blues in some of the shadowed areas and possibly some soft reds. When you look at a leaf your mind tells you its green, in fact there are a lot more colors involved. Take a good look at as much reference as you can and try apply what you see to your texture. Do it in layers (in your piant app) so you can adjust the levels of each detail layer.

I also think your viens are too dark, they should be the same color and brightness as the stem.

Keep it up, learning to paint textures is pretty tough and takes a lot of patience and practice. I can knock out a 5000+ tri nex gen spec model in about an hour and a highpoly in about 2 hours, consider I spend at least 18 hours on even a simple character model and you will see just how much time I devote to texture painting. I still suck though hehe.