PDA

View Full Version : Reasons to get 8Ggb of ram

Noomski
01-29-2008, 12:31 PM
Ok, so I'm new to 3d modelling but started recently using 3ds max and I'm happy to say I'm loving it. I've begun to make a car, trying for as much detail as possible. I've made the wheels and shell of the car etc and today rendered out the wheel and a question popped into my head.

I've added a couple of iterations to the smooth modifier and everything seemd ok. Then I added the tyre (again with 2 scoops of turbo smooth) to the scene and suddenly max tells me that I'm a bit lacking in memory. So I cancelled some startup processes and rebooted and ran Max with no other progs in the background and it seemed to work ok.

Then I realised that I'm gonna have four wheels, four tyres and the car shell and all the other bits and pieces needed to make up the whole car and its gonna be an animation. Now I think I'm right in thinking that as animations go its only going to render out one frame at a time so the fact it's an animation shouldn't affect the ram - but I could be wrong.

So basically I'm asking if I'm going to run into problems later when I come to render because my PC simply can't load all of the polys plus textures cos it doesn't have room? Could I hide parts of the model and combine them later in a video editing suite like Adobe Premier, After Effects etc.

Or, should I just go out and get 8gb of ram and a 64 bit OS and consider the matter dealt with? Whats the best practice to follow?

Many thanks to anyone who has the knowledge,

Mike

Srek
01-29-2008, 01:02 PM
I'm not private to how max works, but it sounds to me as if you were doing some overkill with polygoncount. A detailed car model should never ever come near the limits of a 32 bit OS.
Trying to squash the problem by throwing RAM at it will only lead to more problems not resolve them.
Cheers
Björn

biliousfrog
01-29-2008, 01:28 PM