PDA

View Full Version : How to resetScale on all geometries in scene


LasseSundJohansen
01-29-2008, 01:29 AM
Hi there

How can I reset scale on all parts in scene? The resetScale(geometry) works only if scene does not contain groups.

PEN
01-29-2008, 01:38 AM
Hi there

How can I reset scale on all parts in scene? The resetScale(geometry) works only if scene does not contain groups.

You really want to use resetXform instead as the scale option really doesn't do what you need. I have a tool on my site that handles resetting xforms on a whole scene. I'm not sure that I made it work with groups. To do this you will have to recurse through the groups but resetting xforms will mess with the orientation of pivots and this will cause hierarchies problems. Again my tool will deal with this to some extent.

LasseSundJohansen
01-29-2008, 03:16 PM
You really want to use resetXform instead as the scale option really doesn't do what you need. That did the Trick. Thanks a lot. It is kind of wierd that resetscale is not allowed while resetxform is. The cool thing is that what I really wanted was to reset all kinds of transformation, and THAT is what resetxform is actually doing. So in the end, it is a really cool solution. Thanks again.

CGTalk Moderation
01-29-2008, 03:16 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.