PDA

View Full Version : Holy crap im a newb at rigging! Please help me!

Irie
04-28-2003, 04:05 AM
What a generic thread title, right? well, sorry ;)

I just worked through a great little beginner rigging/setup tut and made it through to the end. However, the IK solver isnt working right... either that or my parenting of bones.

I'd explain everything, but i dont know where to begin. Its such a simple rig though, only Ik on the legs, not even on the feet. but the main problem is that i cant grab the hip joint and translate down on y while keeping the feet on the floor (bending the knees). instead, when i grab the hip and translate down, it just stretches the bone between my root and hip and the legs arent affected by IK at all?

thanks!
Matt

Irie
04-28-2003, 04:07 AM
p.s.

heres the tutorial page, in case you need it

Easy Character Setup in Maya, Theron Benson (http://enemy.mesmer.com/moebius/FMPro?-DB=article&-Format=free_tutorial_read.html&-Op=eq&ProductName=Easy%20Character%20Setup%20in%20Maya&-SortField=LearningOrder&-SortOrder=ascend&-Max=1&-Skip=0&-Find)

dmcgrath
04-28-2003, 06:55 AM
Hers some helpful advice to get you going in the right direction.

1) Create a locator and snap it to the ankle position, where the IK handle is. Then freeze transformations on the locator, and name it something you like, like leftLegControl_1 or something like that. POint constrain the IK handle to the locator (select the locator then the IK). Now hide the IK handle.
This makes the locator the control, and you can lock all the other atributes on it except for the translates.
Repeat this process for the other leg.

2)Unparent the back from the root. Whenever you see a transform node like the one you have there, then you know you have done something wrong. Not really wrong but unecessary.
I recommend point constraining the back to the root also. This lets you retain your independent rotations you want but still makes the back follow the root.