PDA

View Full Version : Mental Ray materials missing when I render from Command Line?

davidmattock
01-25-2008, 09:26 AM
Hi, I have a simple scene that Ive set up the render globals to use Mental Ray and final gather etc. if i do a single test render in the render view in maya it renders fine.

But I want to render from the command line so i use
"render website07\3D\scenes\ANIMS\home.mb". it all renders but when i look at my files i have noticed its missed out any mental ray settings. My MR and SSS materials are missing?.. geometry with these on just dont render at all.
:shrug:
If i put a normal lambert on these objects it renders fine?.
Then i tried a completely new scene form a completely different project and the same is hapening. MR materials dont render and my Mib volume fog missing with command line?, bassically anything "mental ray" is missing. (see attached image "commandline_problems.jpg")

Im new to rendering from command line but read that i could use a command to ensure it uses mental ray , so i now try
"render -r mr website07\3D\scenes\ANIMS\home.mb"

you can see it starts to work and loads MR and my computer slows down a bit so i know its thinking about something, but 30 mins go by and i still get this (see attached image "mr_commandline.gif")
:sad:
I thought if you set your render globals in your scene you didnt have to set anything in the command line..
any ideas what im doing wrong ?

THANKS very much

djx
01-25-2008, 11:32 AM
Ok I dont have a definite answer - just some questions really.

I notice you have some custom shaders mixed in with your standard mentalray shaders. In the old days people would edit maya.rayrc to declare these extra shaders. So the question is did you change maya.rayrc? Because you shouldnt. Just leave it as it was installed.

I would try removing the custom shaders from that folder. Try the render without them in there. I have come across custom shaders that stopped maya recognising anything else.