PDA

View Full Version : file import and file lock problem

T1ckL35
01-22-2008, 07:12 PM
Hi guys/gals,

I've created a batch script in maya (python) that grabs the contents of a directory and for each file found (.3ds in this case) it imports the file, changes the rotation to the one used by maya, freezes the transformations and deletes the history, quadrangulates everything if it is triangulated and then saves it out to a maya file.

All goes fine and it does its job, its just that once completed all the .3ds files in the original folder are locked and cant be deleted without shutting down maya and restarting it. I'm on Windows XP if that helps.

I've had a look into file referencing and if for some reason this is affecting it but I dont think it is. I'm also fairly new to the node structure of maya so dont know if it keeps something cached or linked to the file, even if you start a new scene?

Any help or pointers would be much appreciated.
Simon

siproductions
01-22-2008, 09:44 PM
How exactly are you importing the objects. Are you creating references or actually importing them?

T1ckL35
01-22-2008, 10:17 PM
Hi,

I think I'm doing a straight import but all the multitude of options in the file command might be the confusing issue.
Here's the block of code running the import, rename and save section. It's in a loop but that shouldnt matter here.
I read the help quite a few times and tried various elements seeing if references were in use but couldnt figure it out. The first line was without the reference attributes but still didnt work. I'm guessing that playing about with it for too long has dulled my senses somewhat ;)

mc.file(startDir+i, i=True, type=fileType, preserveReferences=True, loadReferenceDepth='none')
mc.file(startDir+i, rename=endDir+i+'.mb')
mc.file(save=True, force=True, type='mayaBinary')