PDA

View Full Version : Negative IOR Values

arehmanm
01-22-2008, 07:54 AM
Hi, I'm a final year undergraduate student and currently im working on my fyp which is simulating negative index refractive materials in 3D studio MAX.
Ive spent a month mucking around with 3DS MAX and learning the basics. Ive tried a couple of methods for refraction but none allows me to enter a negative value.

Any ideas how I can get it done? I have a hunch I mite need to dig deep with MAXScript and write a shader or something. Please help!

i need to get images similar to the following made in pov-ray: http://www.imagico.de/pov/metamaterials.html

Bobo
01-22-2008, 03:53 PM
have a hunch I mite need to dig deep with MAXScript and write a shader or something.

Not really.

You should know that most parameters inside of Max (and I mean INSIDE) are unclamped - they are only limited on the very surface, the User Interface.

You can open TrackView and set a key to ANY value for any parameter you want. In some cases, the internal code might have built-in validity checks to clamp to reasonable values, for example a Visibility track is taken only between 0 and 1, anything below 0 is taken as invisible and anything above 1 as visible, but you can have ANY value stored in the track.

Similarly, you can set most values to ANYTHING via MAXScript, for example if you assign a Raytrace material to an object, select the object and say

$.material.Index_of_Refraction = -1.5

the IOR will be set correctly to -1.5, just the SPINNER in the UI will show you 0.0 because the input is clamped at UI level to avoid stupid people from doing stupid things (and I don't mean you).