PDA

View Full Version : Messiah vs Motion Builder for LightWave

allseeingi
04-26-2003, 12:11 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm completely new to character animation and my next project calls for me to learn it (keyframe animation). I will be using LightWave 7.5 and am trying decide which out of Messiah and Motion Builder to start using. I would like to know what the advantages and disadvantages of each within LightWave and what are the strengths and weaknesses of each. As I understand it Messiah is more geared towards LightWave but this deal with Motion Builder and the learning program on 3DBuzz has got me very interested. Please help!

Thanks,

Matthew

sinbad
05-01-2003, 09:24 AM
I would go with motionbuilder. As far as I know, in Messiah you have to animate everything with bones as it doesnt do morph targets, and I'm not sure if it allows you to use weight maps, but I might be wrong, (I have a friend using the older version). I have just purchased Mb and it has pretty much everything, and the control rig is very forgiving. can messiah RIG YOUR CHARACTER FOR YOU? I think not. The control rig in Mb is very very nice.

paul

WesComan
05-01-2003, 10:45 AM