PDA

View Full Version : SceneExplorerManager.addProperty findings & questions


JHN
01-14-2008, 12:49 PM
I have made some simple property functions for the scene explorer:


/* LAYER NAME */
fn getLayer theNode = (
theNode.layer.name as name
)

SceneExplorerManager.addReadOnlyProperty "Layer Name" getLayer

/* LAYER VISIBILITY */
fn showLayer theNode = (
if theNode.layer.on then 1 else 0
)

fn hideLayer theNode theValue = (
theValue = case theValue of
(
"0" : false
"1" : true
"true" : true
"false" : false
default: true
)
theNode.layer.on = theValue
)

SceneExplorerManager.addProperty "Layer Visibility" showLayer hideLayer


They work... only thing anoying I found the properties can only be string values... If a property function returns a bool, it still shows an string value with true... it would prefer a checkbox. So am I right in thinking that the only way custom properties are evaluated is through strings? That would suck really as you always get quotes around feedback, or you convert it to name which puts a # in front of it... any thoughts...

-Johan

PiXeL_MoNKeY
01-14-2008, 05:46 PM
Nothing you can do about it. I hope they make some serious changes to this in the future.

-Eric

JHN
01-14-2008, 06:45 PM
So we have a potentially great tool, that could replace a whole lot of custom maxscripts with some simple functions... but we only get to pass around strings... it's so.. so...

... . . ... . . *echo: anyoneeeeeeeee?

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2008, 06:45 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.