PDA

View Full Version : Fusion vs Monet/Mokey

AlanMc
01-05-2008, 04:00 AM
Dear all,

I'm new to compositing and apologise if this is a basic question, but I cannot find an answer so far.

Does Fusion have the same features/tools as Monet and Mokey? I've been looking at buying some software and obviously do not want to by two apps that do the same task.

Any comments will be appreciated.

Regards,
Alan

Stankluv
01-06-2008, 09:15 AM
edit: I'll do more homework on this but....

Monet and Mokey do claim to do more tracking than fusion but it is 2d. If you are looking to integrate your compositing with another 3d app then Fusion is more in line with your needs. You will still need another app like Boujou, Syntheyes or PFTrack to do the actual tracking.

I assume you are 3d -centric because you are here.

so the question is 2D or 3D

AlanMc
01-06-2008, 11:22 AM
Thanks for the reply.

You are correct, I do wish to mix 3D content with film plates. But to clean the film plates prior to compositing it seems that Money and Moket are "better" apps, which complement an app such as Fusion. Would you agree?

If this is the case then my compositing pipeline is going to be very expensive with all three apps, plus a camera tracking app.

Regards,
Alan

theotheo
01-06-2008, 03:42 PM
Hi Alan,

If you plan to do "3d cleanups" I'd definitley recomend syntheyes for doing the 3d tracking, it can export fusion comps directly and does tons of other usefull stuff.
And I've heard alot of people having success with the pf-match plugin from pixelfarm, but I've never used it.

-the0

AlanMc
01-06-2008, 08:36 PM
theO,

Thanks for your reply. I have been looking at syntheyes and also Matchmover for camera tracking.

Have you any experience with Monet or Mokey? If so, what is your opinion about learning curve, etc.

Thanks,
Alan

dprgb
01-07-2008, 03:56 PM
Well what is it you're trying to do? Fusion occupies a different market space than Mokey/Monet.