PDA

View Full Version : Digital Tutors

taxibickle
01-02-2008, 12:46 AM
I'm a Maya noob so appologies now for asking a possible dumb question, but we all have to learn somewhere.

I have a character rigging tutorial I purchased from Digital Tutors. So far it's pretty cool, but it's also very challenging. Many of the concepts introduced in the tuts don't work as expected.

I have stripped everything down and started over several times, but can't seem to get past a few things.

I figured if I started a thread here that anyone else that is having problems can collaborate with the pros to come up with solves to either do what is asked in the tuts, or offer up simpler or better ways to do the same thing.

I'm not at home right now so I don't have any specifics right now. But I thought I would start the thread anyway.

Dive in folks

jason108
01-02-2008, 05:32 AM
which dt tut are you using?

for rigging you should also get Fahrenheit digital tuts, art of rigging and animation friendly rigs.

They're a little different and all very very good.

Riggings all about knowing your options.

with cartoony characters you must try the ribbons out. So great.

taxibickle
01-03-2008, 03:56 AM
which dt tut are you using?

for rigging you should also get Fahrenheit digital tuts, art of rigging and animation friendly rigs.

They're a little different and all very very good.

Riggings all about knowing your options.

with cartoony characters you must try the ribbons out. So great.

I agree with having options. It's a must. I came from lightwave and then used messiah for a while before taking the leap into Maya. Messiah made some things so easy in comparison, but there were also a lot of limitations. Maya seems to be extremely powerful so I'm excited to learn it. It's just a bit challenging at the moment, as is any switch to a new app.

I am using the Cartoon Rigging tutorial. It's really nice, but a little hard to follow at times.