PDA

View Full Version : using DOF ??


ckas
04-23-2003, 12:43 PM
what is your way to make DOF with Maya and DF as a posteffect??
I think rendering a seperate pass with a depth shader apllied to- and then using channel booleans ??

thanks for the help

Jayk2k
04-23-2003, 11:53 PM
one of 2 ways... render out your files with z-depth to an appropriate format, like rla/rpf.

There are issues with doing this though, as z-depth can't be anti-aliased, and may produce artifacts on the edges of objects.

Or render with a black fog applied to self illumm white objects, and use the channel boolean with the "aux channels" on to place the data into the z-buffer. This will be anti-aliased, and may produce artifacts as well.

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 12:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.