PDA

View Full Version : Cyberpunk Samurai Zatoichi- NEED HELP!

NME-Se7eN
12-20-2007, 04:00 PM
Edited: Just changed the headline.

Headline will be edited as soon as the help I desire is acquired. Those who know me know I attempted this character a while ago, got busy with some freelance stuff, and now I'm trying to get back at it. However, I'm a Zbrush veteran of two days and watched the "Introduction to Zbrush 3" DVD by Meats from Gnomon. Regardless, I'm having issues in a couple areas, maybe someone could help me.

The first question is basically how should I bring the character into Zbrush from Maya? I'm currently subtooling all the parts together from OBJs. To give an idea, here is a color chart of my various parts.
http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c237/sheppyboy2000/colored.jpg

Now, within Zbrush I have two distinct problems. The first is here...
http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c237/sheppyboy2000/footdisease.jpg
What is causing the foot to do this when I subdivide? I checked the geometry and anything should be cool.

Second is this, despite using the crease tool, like the DVD said, my edges are not staying connected as I subdivide.
http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c237/sheppyboy2000/shopatdagap.jpg

Basically I'm looking for a comprehensive workflow guide from some of the character artists on this site. I want to learn Zbrush but issues like this keep cropping up.

NME-Se7eN
12-20-2007, 04:03 PM
To give reference, THIS is the original sketch/design pick.
http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c237/sheppyboy2000/blindswordsman-1.jpg

Gaboon
12-20-2007, 05:31 PM
The first problem- I've seen this before but can't remember what it was. Delete the history on the low poly before you export? non welded verts?