PDA

View Full Version : writing shader in renderman

digiralph
04-20-2003, 01:05 PM
Hi everbody,
I'm a student studying in graphic communiaction :) . I am now trying my best to learn rendering on my own. And I do have some questions:
- What is the different between the shader wrote in renderman and shader made in Hypershade of Maya?
- Is there any good reference or tutorials online about writing shader in renderman?

Best regards,
digiralph

Wess
04-20-2003, 04:00 PM
HI.

Writing shaders in renderman is like scripting a small program. That means u need to have some basic programming skills and know the shader language which is C-like for ur renderer.

Plugging shading network is about setting relationships between attributes of different nodes. Usually they are the nodes that u can create in hypershade. You can do shading network without any programming background but you may have to know some simple math for more complex network.

An option would be MTOR (Maya TO Renderman), it has a bunge of nodes for u to plug and play to create renderman shaders within maya.

Where are u studying at in HK? PolyU?

Wesley :bounce:

digiralph
04-21-2003, 09:12 AM
Hi Wess,

Thank you for your reply.
I am studying in HKBU - DGC. You know HK?
And i want to know what is the different in the outcome of both shaders? I know that the size will be smaller in "writen-shader" that in the "linked-shader".
So it is the same principle that write function in JavaScript on our own (write shader in SL) is more concise than use function provided by Dreamweaver (link shader in Maya)?
Thanks again!:applause:

Wess
04-21-2003, 10:11 AM
HI, i'm a hk guy in hk!

I know 0 about those web things,........ :thumbsdow

First, i actually feel comparing prman shading language with maya's hypershade isn't that appropriate....