PDA

View Full Version : MOV Codecs


Mathieson
12-11-2007, 07:29 PM
Is there a way to access codec settings through script? I'd like to be able to switch back and forth between PNG and Sorenson3 codecs for MOV files.

PiXeL_MoNKeY
12-11-2007, 08:14 PM
From the MAXScript reference:There is currently no access to the properties associated with some of the bitmap output plug-ins. This means that you cannot set the codec used for .avi files. The properties used are the properties that were last used when saving that file type in 3ds Max.However, you could try looking into the UIAccessor Interface:The UIAccessor Core Interface provides methods to collect data and interact with dialogs and popups in the 3ds Max User Interface. It can be used in conjunction with the Interface: DialogMonitorOPS to perform automated UI handling using a callback function.

Available in 3ds Max 9 and higher.-Eric

Mathieson
12-12-2007, 01:53 PM
Cool, I will mess around with that, see if I can come up with anything. Thanks Eric.

PEN
12-12-2007, 02:21 PM
Are you trying to write that tool for automating the creation of MOV files from tga sequenses?

Or just for gerneral render tests Mat?

Mathieson
12-12-2007, 04:50 PM
I am setting up 3 different render settings for our pipeline, one of the three is a final render while the other two are variations of a draft render. We are using Final Cut and word from editing is that it cannot accept image sequences (http://www.creativemac.com/2003/02_feb/tutorials/fcpimagesequence030204.htm) and would need an extra step in between rendering out of max to editing in final cut.

So, we need to render straight out of max as an mov (bad idea I know, but render times are very tiny.. it would be more of a hassle to convert from an image sequence for every shot rather than just re-starting the render if it fails). So, the non-final renders need to have one codec to keep the file sizes down, while the final renders need to have a different codec to make sure the quality is lossless.

The different settings I want are all scripted and ready to go. The codecs are the only thing left.

To answer your question, it would be more about automating the creating of MOV files from png sequences immediately after rendering has completed.

PEN
12-12-2007, 05:11 PM
There is a way to write mov's with a sequence. Just don't know what that is. Has any one here done that?

CGTalk Moderation
12-12-2007, 05:11 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.