PDA

View Full Version : Hand And Arm Rig

Animator395
04-20-2003, 05:10 AM
While I'm at it I might as well get help with my rig. I've been posting several questions trying to get ideas on better ways to do things (hint, hint, Im a newbie) and now I wish to know of ways to rig an arm and hand so that It can have good movement and so that acheiving that movement can be done relatively quickly. The hand movement is what really frustrating me right now, but I would like to know some good arm rigs as well. This is for a cartoonish 5 fingered character.

Anyone got any good rig Ideas they would like to share?

Thanks to everyone in advance

John :beer:

jHromika
04-20-2003, 06:48 AM
You might want to check out this tutorial for an arm set up.

http://www.electronicgaming.com/tutorials/

The big problem I've had with the arm is that when I set up a wrist twist attribute, the geometry pinches at the joint. I've just built this particular set up, but I haven't bound the skin yet, so I can't tell you how well it works yet ;) but it looks like it should solve that problem.

For the hand, I've been using the Learning Maya|Character Rigging and Animation set up.

http://www.hromikarenders.com/stills/jaredimages/jared003.htm

Not the best image, but it should give you a rough idea of joint placement. One palm joint, 4 joints branching off that for the index, middle, and ring fingers. 2 pinky palm joints with 4 pinky joints attached there, and 1 thumb palm joint, with 3 more joints for the thumb. All of these are then parented to a root joint that meets with the wrist.