PDA

View Full Version : CG students: Tell me about your school experiences!

swingrays
12-07-2007, 01:42 AM
I'm currently a multimedia instructor or a career school. I teach After Effects, Lightwave, and Director, although I'm trying to get my school to phase out Director for Flash. I just started this job 6 months ago and it's been fine so far. By teaching this stuff my skill level has increased very much, but I still don't have much time to CREATE. And this brings me to my little problem. I teach the students how to use these programs, but it's another thing entirely to teach them how to be "Creative". I'll give these kids a project with the parameters I set up for them and a lot of the time I get crap. Sure, they did what I asked of them, but from a creative standpoint, it sucks!

HOW DO YOU TEACH A STUDENT TO BE CREATIVE??????????

When I go to grade these projects I feel some guilty and/or irritated because a lot of them just don't have an eye!

For those of you who went to school for this stuff, took classes whatever, how did your instructor get you to be creative??? And how did they grade you?? Were you graded harshly if your project was boring? I'm so sick of getting crap from these students, but I can't really blame them too much because I'm just teaching the program. It's like, "Here Fido, Go be creative!!!"

swing

Michael5188
12-07-2007, 05:48 PM
I never had an instructor who really taught creativity. I feel for the most part that's their own job, you're job is to give them the skills to portray their creativity in whatever way they want. But you could open them up to other artists, hopefully inspire.

X27
12-07-2007, 06:05 PM
At my high school there is a new class and it has to do with CG programming. Not a lot of students are creative.
They usually stem from the book we have or what the teacher tells us. Its mostly up to the student, I think, if they want to be creative or not.