PDA

View Full Version : Production Workflow - Texturing Or Rigging First?

ian27
12-03-2007, 12:18 AM
Hey guys,

This is probably a simple question for most of you guys, but it is one that has been puzzling me. At work I have had to create my first 3D animated character. The modelling of the character is almost complete and I have some experience of rigging, animating, and texturing in Maya - but my question is, once the model is complete, which steps would you guys suggest I take next - should I texture the character, or go straight to rigging the character and texture it later on in the workflow?

Here is my personal anticipated workflow:

a. Modelling
b. Texturing
c. Rigging
d. Animating
e. Rendering
f. Compositing

Or is a better to use the following workflow?

a. Modelling
b. Rigging
c. Animating
d. Texturing
e. Rendering
f. Compositing

Any help or advice on this topic would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Ian

doodlyD
12-03-2007, 01:02 AM
i think in one man prodution or any other, first you must develop your character in any possible way
texturing is important way too

you can create general texture to your character first ,sometimes it might help you to develop more personal rig setup

also sometimes you might want to animate in texture mode ,so you can feel you character a bit more

so in general texturing goes before rigging and animation ,but you can modify it in anytime

Cronholio
12-03-2007, 01:06 AM
In most studios rigging and surfacing are concurrent, it doesn't matter.

Bounce
12-03-2007, 01:08 AM
I think it all depends on how high end your going and if you have a team working with you. But if it's a one man show (which it sounds like) I would recommend your first suggested workflow.

I find it easier to texture after I model, I feel they go hand in hand, that way I can focus on creating a suitable rig and continue to tweak it while Im animating. (again, to me, these two go hand in hand).

It depends on what you find is a good workflow for you.