PDA

View Full Version : cry for help

aadams
12-02-2007, 04:57 PM
http://assets.cgsociety.org/nvart/1196614539/680bound
(http://assets.cgsociety.org/nvart/1196614539/1024bound)I miss the days of Jackson Pollock...Jasper Johns...De Kooning...Reinhart...it seems to me that computer art and the painterly image has a long way to go...So when I saw the term abstract I took it to heart...I have been studying fractal forms for almost fifteen years...and I have a series of paintings to contribute...mostly realized in the year of 2007...All of them are rendered at extremely hi resolution...and focus on the color pattern and the suggestive movement the the fractals make as they overlap and interpenetrate on another...The goal is to insinuate dynamic, emotive movement with a still image.

LeeGriggs
12-03-2007, 05:14 PM
I like this one the most so far out of your submissions.

It has a very graphic feel. I can almost imagine seeing some typographical elements in some of the forms?

I would love to know more about your technique.

How are you producing these lovely fractals?

aadams
12-03-2007, 06:40 PM
thanks...I enjoy your work too.

First off when you want to use fractals...one should spend time studying the history behind them...just to understand that they are based on math equations from the 19h century...thats right...people would get their degrees in mathmatics at one time for simply writing equations...most of which could not be solved...

so accept the computer as an indispensable calculator.

next.

learn to embrace the software as a vehicle/instrument....I tend to see programs like apophysis in this regard...I drive myself to a landscape and begin to take photos of the algorithms....first at preview resolution and slowly working my way up to a higher resolution....the renders can take up to 36 hours...(i like 8K)

There are people who say anyone could do that in a few clicks of a mouse...