PDA

View Full Version : My first post - bowling anim

Robsk
12-02-2007, 03:00 PM
First, hi. I'm 100% new, this is my first post. I wasn't quite sure where to start, so have thrown myself in at the deep end. For a little bit of background information, I have decided to work in 3d - or aim to - only within a relatively recent period. It is the medium which inspires me most. As such, I have not had anything in the way of formal 3d training. I did more film work and so on previously, but as I have said, pretty much no 3d. I'm aware this means little, as some of the best practioners I've seen have been self taught.. still - I'm very much a 'noob', but hopefully I can change that. That's one of the reasons I've joined up - thanks to jussing for the heads up. So anyway, I expect critique, because I am really very new. I do intend to do an MA in 3d animation in the next two years, but in the meantime I want to really try to get up to speed, to a decent level. So yep, enough of that - I just thought I'd put up the only piece of work I've done so far with any form of polish, and even then, I am more than aware of many of its problems as it is.

I'm sure there are a hundred of these - it seems some film schools thought the same as me, that a bowling animation represents a relatively light start and yet one which can be reasonably versatile - so youtube does have some alternatives. Still, it was my idea in my head I guess - and I always want to ensure narrative and concept are the real stars, so I just liked the little story of these pins who worked very well together to avoid their fate, only for them to be cut down cruelly anyway... Modelling, texturing etc all either default or my own work.

"Don't count your pins..." (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbcMJPr5Bgc)