PDA

View Full Version : Elf

VISEone
11-23-2007, 09:29 PM
Well, here's my second try to get into the digital art...
Reference was a picture. I drew a rough sketch over it and went from there.
Now I'm pretty finished with the colors and start to go on details and more shading.
I still don't like the hair - and i still have to work on that elfear...
I have some ideas for the scene - but I'm open on that still.
Any critiques welcome because I'm a bloody beginner :hmm:

http://www.viseone.de/viseone_de/download/elf_wip2.jpg

EDIT: changed the eyehurting background :)

matsman
11-24-2007, 11:05 AM
All I can say... is: Whoa! Green!

is this intentional or an accident? it almost hurts my eyes.. BTW your reference was Buffy the vampire slayer... I recognize the pose :)

I suggest you work on the colours some more and try to get some more detail in the face before going wild on the hair... I leave hair mostly for last just like I would do in 3d... and add a wig (well sorta) later.

Good second try!

VISEone
11-24-2007, 11:24 AM
Yeah, I got a little wild on the green shine :) but at the end this won't be so eyehurting, because its just the basic color of the shine that comes from the side.
I followed mostly the reference shading from that picture and just changed the colors.
The reference was a bikinishot from a bikiniwholesale - it was not buffy for sure.

I will follow your suggestion to erase the hair and do that over at last and start to work on the shading and details - that makes sense to me.

VIEWING ON YOUR OWN RISK - NOT RESPONSABLE FOR ANY EYEDAMAGES BECAUSE OF THE HURTING GREEN COLOUR :scream:

matsman
11-24-2007, 11:51 AM
Ah..much better...

Really not buffy.. so the stake was your own Idea... that is so funny :d I guess the model was a big Buffy fan then :)

Are you going to change the bikini into something different as well? or just leave it?

Cheers!

VISEone
11-24-2007, 02:00 PM
Yes, I just saw this pic and thought this would be a good pose to practise with.