PDA

View Full Version : stumped on my characters face, need help

joshex
11-23-2007, 05:59 AM
alright, so I'm pretty good with making objects look exactly as desired (and texturing), and suddenly I move onto the next part of my game AKA the main character's face (a crude sketch of which is my avatar)

anyways my porblem is I can't figure out how to make a human face out of the mesh monkey!, so I tried using a mesh UV sphere which I found to be more hassle than I wanted to deal with...

but as I am just a novice in blender to begin with I don't know where to go from here, should I make all sorts of separate items and strew them together to make a face? (because I figure I might be able to do that) or is there some simple (human) wireframe head other than the monkey?

how do you make your character's heads?

(please give as much written advice as possible as I am limited by a 4.4KB internet access and can't download or view large movies..)

fktt
11-23-2007, 08:13 AM
i build my heads from scratch, btw some good video tutorials about modeling in blender can be found here:
http://www.montagestudio.org/tut/

LetterRip
11-24-2007, 12:03 AM
Josh,

if you are using sculpting - starting with a cube usually works best. Just creat a cube, add a few levels of multires. Enter sculpt mode, turn on x mirroring and start learning how to sculpt :).

They if you need a good topology use the retopo tool to recreate a new topology on top of the mesh. See wiki.blender.org for usage of retopo and of sculpting.

Otherwise you need to learn basic box modeling or point to point modeling skills.

LetterRip

FreakyDude
11-24-2007, 07:33 PM
Learn about topology either way, sculpting from a cube can get some nice results, but really GOOD results are generally achieved by starting over a clean base.
Learn about topology, edgeloops and edgeflow, build your head, THEN start to sculpt over that if you want. Anyway, thatīs how i see it.

joshex
11-29-2007, 08:24 AM