PDA

View Full Version : I searched, but nothing seemed helpful to me...

FiniteElement
11-18-2007, 05:22 PM
A repetitive question (I know), but my excuses are in the title...
I'm studying engineering and my brother industrial design. So we're looking for a new PC. The softwares we may use include Solid Works 2008, Catia V5, Rhinoceros and 3ds Max (we won't play state-of-the-art 3d games). According to their system requirements, a micro of at least 2GHz and 1GB RAM does well (we won't make animations nor stunning renders). My problem is the graphics card: Rhino and 3ds max almost demand OpenGL cards, and 3ds max's hardware list confuses me. What do you reccomend? Will a cheap Nvidia geForce6100 work? How do I know that a card is designed for OpenGL? Am I judging well the processor and RAM capacity (would 512MB work as well)? We use Windows XP.
Thanks a lot for taking the time to read!

cooperunionstud
11-18-2007, 05:42 PM
a cheap nvidia will work. just get a regular pc with a decent graphics card and you should be fine. No need to really spend all that money if you are not doing intensive renderings.

Szos
11-18-2007, 08:04 PM
CAD programs actually have a much lower base system requirement than most people think they do.

Depending on your BUDGET, just about any PC will work (obviously that at least meets the software requirements). Definitely nothing less than 2GBs of RAM, and a dual (or quad) core CPU would come in handy. Concerning the graphics card, I would always stick with Nvidia - their drivers are just so much better than anything from ATi. Get a medium or high-end gaming card and you should be totally fine. Even on complex assemblies, a CAD program is going to stress the GPU lots less than most new games. You shouldn't need a ton of RAM because that is mostly used to store textures - mostly a non-issue with CAD. That new Nvidia 8800 (?) card looks to be a beast, I it seems that it is priced VERY aggressively (under $300, I think).