PDA

View Full Version : UV Mapping problems and workflow

NGVertigo
11-13-2007, 05:34 PM
Hello,
Well, this is my first time posting on here, So I'd like to say hello and thank everyone who's ever asked a question I've had and gotten an answer. I'm loving what I've read so far in this community and I really hope to be a part of it more.

I've got a 2 parter here:

1) I'm having a problem with working XSI and Mudbox together. I've been working on a character, had the base modeled in XSI and it has it's UV stamp made and texture projection set up.

I've imported the character in an OBJ file to Mudbox and did some minor moves, did one level of subdivision and did a bit of sculpting and smoothing. Since I'm new to using Mudbox, I've been learning a lot from what I could find online. However, the problem is when I export the character back out as a new OBJ file, import it into XSI, his UV stamp is a bit of a mess.

When I first stamped the UV, it was in seperate pieces, naturally. Now after bringing it to and from Mudbox, it's made the whole mesh merged together. Basically, it took what I did for it's UV, and healed any cut lines I have so I have these large distortions and lines stretching to keep the seams healed on the UV map.

Is there a way to maintain this data of the UV map better? Did I miss something that would keep the stamp the way I want it to when I export from XSI as an OBJ? or something in stamping it in the first place?

2) Can anyone suggest a better workflow idea? I'm currently working like this:

- modeling low poly things in XSI
- UV stamping
- setting up texture projection
- exporting as OBJ
- importing to Mudbox from XSI
- detailing/sculpting
- exporting as OBJ from Mudbox
- importing to XSI
- texturing with Photoshop/XSI

I thank you for reading through my situation and would really like to hear peoples input.

oglu
11-14-2007, 10:07 AM
i think youa re using an old mud version...
this issue should be sloved in version 1.07...

oglu