PDA

View Full Version : Displace in Max


zheng
11-12-2007, 06:18 AM
everything looks 'rounder' after i displace the displacement map in 3ds max generated from mudbox... how can i avoid this from happening?

http://img160.imageshack.us/img160/8133/maxdispzw5.jpg

oglu
11-12-2007, 07:41 AM
use also a normalmap for the fine details... generated between your last two/three levels in mud...

and check these tutorial from neil...
http://www.neilblevins.com/cg_education/mudbox_max/mudbox_max.htm

zheng
11-12-2007, 08:01 AM
ya i know about normalmap... image was grab from viewport... problem now is those horn become fatter after displacement...

soulburn3d
11-12-2007, 06:11 PM
It's probably because max is displacing out only, whereas your displacement map should be displacing in and out. Take a second look at that tutorial oglu mentionned, it should give you the answers you need.

- Neil

CGTalk Moderation
11-12-2007, 06:11 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.