PDA

View Full Version : Advanced (sort of) character Rig - muscle and fat simulation

nemirc
04-14-2003, 02:25 AM
Hello there.

I made this little something a couple of weeks ago.
Well, as a matter of fact I've been working on this little project for about two monts and I've reached a conclussion.

The proof of concept:
Basically I made a muscular system that would behave "nicely" and "realistically". It worked (I used dynamics) very nice.
Step number two: skin.
What can I say.. do you have a powerful computer?
I have a Athlon 1.4GHz and 512Mb RAM and it was impossible to animate the character. The muscle deformations take around 10 seconds to calculate (per joint rotation) since I have the "use components" setting turned on in the SkinCluster node.

I am sure there is a way to optimize the simulation but I am not a developer (I made this by using simple Maya dynamics and standard Maya tools) so I don't know how the -expletive deleted- it can be done.

Any ideas on how I can improve the performance??? :bounce:

gmask
04-14-2003, 02:47 AM
I think normally you would not try to animate with the muscles turned on but rather hide them and animate the character then run the dynamic simulation.

Supposedly the dynamics in Maya 5 have be sped up %90 on windows but still I would imagine that is too slow to work with such a system any where near realtime.

keithlango
04-14-2003, 03:47 AM
Yeah, the general solution is to have two versions of your character.

Build a low resoluton version of the character that has no deformations going on, but is just a low poly block version to show volume and spatial relationships. Make sure all the animated objects are named the same. (ie: if you're using control objects to animate, make the control objects the same name as their counterparts in the high res version. If you're animating joints directly -ick- then name the joints the same as in the high-res.)