PDA

View Full Version : node in error

nobopyon
11-06-2007, 09:38 PM
Newbie here... trying out to do z-depth composit in Shake.

Me (editor) and my co-worker (3DsMax modeler) are testing Z-depth composit using Shake.

After severl research, I had 3D guy to render frames as rpf and OpenEXR for me to test in Shake.

Somehow, the z-depth is inverted. (3dsMax shows white as being closer, but in shake, it shows black as being closer).

I used color-invert node to invert everything (rgbaz), then re-invert again except z (rgba).
Somehow this works.

After I figured this out, I "filein" another frame set into Shake.

It will show in node view as the file is imported, but the context help says "node in error"
and the path is in red.

I checked the linking path and re-link it and it wouldn't change anything...
Nothing will show in viewer..

(I tried exr file and it showed this problem, so I tried rpf file, but was the same thing).

I checked if there were any missing frames in between... but they were all there.

Can anyone guess what's wrong or what step i'm missing so that Shake can actually see the frames for me to play with the file to composit??

pgraham
11-07-2007, 02:39 PM
Is the current frame of the sequence missing or incomplete? That would give you an error.

Also you don't need 2 inverts, just enter "z" in the channels parameter and it will ignore the color channels.

nobopyon
11-07-2007, 03:07 PM
Thanks, pgraham,
Invert once with just Z worked.... !! thanks.

For the second issue..
the 3D guys rendered 100 frames, and I don't think the current frame of the sequence is missing...
and what do you mean by "imcomplete"?

I can open first frame of exr and see it's rendered correctly..

pgraham
11-12-2007, 02:20 PM
Can you open shake through a terminal? When the error happens, shake will output a more detailed message to the terminal window. Post that message here and we'll have a better chance of helping.

osxrules
11-12-2007, 06:19 PM