PDA

View Full Version : Modeler/Texture Artist portfolio critique

PredatorGSR
11-06-2007, 04:18 AM
Hey guys,

I would really appreciate if I could get some feedback on my portfolio and reel. I graduated from a 3d school about a year ago, and have been working with mod teams since then. I'm currently trying to get a job in the game industry as an environment prop modeler/texture artist. Eventually I would like to specialize in characters, but most of the entry level positions I've seen have been for prop artists, so I have been aiming for that as the way into the industry. I really like making props as well, so that doesn't hurt.

I've been applying for the last 6 months or so and have gotten limited results. I did get one art test, which I passed but they hired a local candidate due to location (I got feedback from the art director and found this out later, otherwise I would have offered to fly up on my own dime). Other than that I've gotten a few responses along the lines of "your work is impressive but we chose another candidate", but mostly I just don't hear anything back, which seems to be pretty common.

Basically I'm looking for a reality check, I think my stuff is on the right track, but I need unbiased opinions.

Feel free to critique everything, quality of work, reel, website, presentation etc. I've got a thick skin, so don't hold back. http://konradbeerbaum.com/

Thanks in advance for your help.

Gamedev
11-06-2007, 05:22 AM
I'll start w/ your website the move on to your actual portfolio.