PDA

View Full Version : Mia Cutout Opacity in Maya 2008


sixbysixx
10-15-2007, 12:52 PM
Just ran into this strange thing:

I have a car with some black borders around the windows and they are in the center cut out - mia material with a texture mapped to cutout opacity. Works fine in Maya 8.5,
but if I open the very same scene in Maya2008 the windows are black - the cutout doesn't work anymore - all the connections seem to be intact though?

Ideas anybody?

http://farmhousepost.com/weblinks/CutoutOpacityBug.jpg

Ash-Man
10-15-2007, 01:50 PM
make sure you check Alpha is Luminance in your file texture

sixbysixx
10-15-2007, 02:00 PM
make sure you check Alpha is Luminance in your file texture

YESSSS! That's it:thumbsup:

Thanks a lot!

Sooo - do you happen to know why in 2008 you have to flick this little switch, while before you didn't?

Ash-Man
10-15-2007, 02:15 PM
2008 had changed the way it read the Alpah, you can make Maya read the OLD way by going to the pref > under rendering and use OLD maya style

so you dont have to od that everytime
It's in the DOCs under "what's new"

sixbysixx
10-15-2007, 02:27 PM
Duh - I remember reading about it, but completely forgot...

Thanks:)

CGTalk Moderation
10-15-2007, 02:28 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.