PDA

View Full Version : Boat "spray" help needed

bartteetaert
10-15-2007, 07:38 AM
Hello,

i'm new to particles and animation...
so i do have a question :)

My girlfriend's dad is a yachtdesigner/builder.. so he asked me if i could do some 3D models of the upcoming models... I made them in 3Ds and have fair results...

for an ocean i'm getting "moderate" results with the mental ray arch & design water shader (since i can't figure out the ocean shader, or any shader at all in mental ray)

but to make things more realistic, i would need some kind of "spray" coming out of the boat.
http://www.wally.com/Upload/i/img_118WP_new_001.jpg

like you see in the picture here, the boat starts to have a "spray" at the front where it touches the water, and it leaves a trail of whitewater...

anyone of you have an idea how to do this? the wake it makes isn't necessary...
I've tried realflow but can't figure it out!!
it doesn't have to be animated, a still image is good

would be really some one could help me!!

many thanks in advance!
Greetz
Bart

CapitanRed
10-15-2007, 10:02 PM
if you don't need a wake, simply define the part of the boat that should emit particles. add a wind, a gravity, and a delete operator.
and there you are.
for the shader, read allans smoke tuts on 3dluvr.com

BrandonD
10-16-2007, 04:47 PM
Depending on how the boat moves through the water, there are different techniques. The simple way is to draw a spline around the bow to about half-way down the length of the boat, do an outline operation to make a closed spline, convert it to a mesh, and use it as an emitter. This works best if the boat is pretty stable through the water. Add a float controller to the emission speed and birth rate to apply a layer of noise to the values. This will create a non-uniform organic emission of particles.